I ‘have’ to go to work…

My stitching sisters and I have had an e-mail thread going recently…a fantasy if you will. Now before this blog loses it’s ‘G-rated’ status, let me hasten to explain the fantasy involves not working outside our nests and having all day long to stitch.

There’s more. Not only are we stitching all day long, but we have the money to go hither and yon taking classes, buying wonderful new desgins and…although it hasn’t been mentioned…I’m guessing outfitting a studio for all our threads, fabrics, beads and ribbons.

Doesn’t that sound wonderful? Well, when I think about deep down, for me it wouldn’t be wonderful. Okay, the unlimited budget might be nice, but I already have an office/studio that has more stuff than I could ever hope to finish. (and yes, I still buy…so to turn that into a full time job would be..um…dangerous. Strain my self control) So, unless you can give me 50 hour days, all that I will get out of the experience is wonderful fibers and fabric to fondle. (A worthy pursuit that the uninitiated don’t get :-)))

My problem is this: The less I have to do on any given day, the less I seem to get accomplished at my stitching frame. I bop down more bunny trails, always intending to get amazing amounts stitched. And, at the end of the day, I wonder where the time has gone and why I have so little progress to show, whereas on days when I’m already focused on accomplishing tasks, my needle(s) just seem to fly.

I’ve spend a lot of time convalescing in the past year…and it’s been the since worst year for finishes I can remember. Starts, well there’ve been a lot of those, but not a lot of finishes. Sigh…see my problem?

It seems I am more productive when I am busy. These ‘stitching sisters’ that I’ve mentioned all work outside the home, in positions of responsibility…and they all turn out lovely pieces. They are an inspiration.

My point in this? Simply that I think I need to stay gainfully employed until I’m 448 years old. πŸ™‚ Or…the other possibility is to find a way to turn needlework into gainful employment. Question to ponder: Would it still be as much fun if I HAD to do it? πŸ™‚

(Okay, just so you all know. This should not be interpreted as discouragement of anyone who wants to apply for the job of ‘patron’ for our group. I’d adjust, lol)

Yesterday, I worked a little on the Round Robin piece and will share a photo this evening and, while Dan and I watched the classic ‘Caddyshack’, I worked on my prayer shawl. It now looks like this. This is my tv/football project, easier on the eyes than 40 ct. linen. πŸ™‚

dscf0668.JPG

Well, I’m off to work :-). I hope this morning finds each of you with many reasons to smile and to hope.

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Isabelle  On January 24, 2007 at 3:36 pm

    I know what you mean, Julie. The less I have to do in a day, the less I tend to do. The fuller my plate is, the more I accomplish! πŸ™‚

    Lovely new blog πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

