SBQ-Frogs, Frogs, Frogs…

Do you use your needle, a seam ripper, or something else when you have to frog stitches? Why do you use the method that you do?

Who me? I NEVER have to frog. (Frogging, for the uninitiated, is having to rip stitches out because of a boo-boo. Get it? Rip-it, rip-it, rip-it :-))

Pause.

Wooooo…that lightening strike was a little close for comfort, so perhaps I’d best ‘fess up. I DO make mistakes and I have had them ‘froggy-froggy blues’ many times in my life.

Now it’s time to share my…sort of…perfected ‘frogging’ technique. I clip my thread close to the error then use my needle to withdraw the offending stitches.

That’s it. No shortcuts. When I am stitching over one and have to frog I’ve been known to spend entire evenings reverse stitching. This often prompts Dan to make the comment ‘I would NEVER have the patience for that!’. I’m not sure I do either, but if artistic license (which is what I call some errors) becomes a very visible ‘oops’, I will frog.

I NEVER use a seam ripper…too much stress on the fabric and the existing stitches. I guess I’m afraid of doing some SERIOUS damage with that particular tool.

Two other pieces of indispensible equipment when it comes to ‘ripping out’: My Uncle Bill’s tweezers (sharp pointed) and my Judy’s Boo-Boo stick (best $6 I ever spent-removes the leftover fuzz from linen and canvas. I don’t know Judy personally but THANK YOU!!!).

Just to set the record straight, I do not work for either of these companies and am not receiving any kind of financial renumeration for this plug, but they are both things you all NEED to have in your stitching basket. :-))))

Oh…and one more thing: I mumble under my breath A LOT!

Conclusion: I much prefer stitching in forward. 🙂

I hope everyone is having a ‘frog-less’ Saturday.

May the light always find you on a dreary day.

When you need to be home, may you find your way.

May you always have courage to take a chance,

And never find frogs in your underpants!

–unknown author, but oh so appropriate

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

