Grapes, grapes and more grapes, but no sour grapes!

I LOVE grapes. I adore grapes. And, well, it’s a good thing. Because you HAVE to LOVE grapes if you want to work on the Bordeaux Sampler by Sampler Cove. The aforementioned grapes are all rhodes stitches and are so much fun to do. In fact, the whole durned thing is fun to do. Some specialty stitches combined with a little over one and the ubiquitous cross means it doesn’t get boring. The Vicki Clayton silks are wonderful to use and Diane has selected gorgeous colors! (Taro Leaf, Malt and Diane’s Rouge). To top it off, 36 Ct. Edinborough Linen is just about my favorite. So this was bound to be a success.

Thank you to Carol for allowing me to be a shirt tail participant in this SAL!

Here is my progress photo for the last few days:

Bordeaux Sampler by Sampler Cove

I am a slow stitcher, but this goes suprisingly fast. It’s a terrific project if anyone is interested.

Gulp. Now I have to admit to a little stash aquisition, but very little and well…I bought it from a friend. Several years ago in Sampler and Antique Needlework Quarterly, Merry Cox published a Lady’s Sewing Roll project and she made the kit (all fabrics, fibers, everything for finishing and the scrim ruler and laying tool) available for a limited time. I love this project and I’ve always kicked myself for not ordering the finishing kit. Well, as it turns out, my friend Vicki didn’t think she’d ever do it and so I um…acquired it from her in exchange for an equitable amount of legal tender.

Lady’s Sewing Roll Kit by Merry Cox

The project uses Thread Gatherer silks, 35 count linen and silk finishing material. Isn’t it gorgeous? I have to make the time to do this one! Thank you, Vicki!

Next up in rotation, the Indigo Rose Folding Cross Needlebook (Guild project) and my current addition to Judy’s Neighborhood Round Robin.

And now it’s time for me to hit the hay. I hope all your stitches have been happy ones!

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Sue  On March 15, 2007 at 12:05 pm

    That Bordeaux Sampler that so many are doing right now is very pretty. You’re off to a great start.

  • Carol  On March 15, 2007 at 1:43 pm

    I love the start to your Bordeaux Sampler 🙂 I have that Merry Cox chart too – isn’t it a beauty??!!

Leave a Reply

