The Little…er…Gray Church in the Dale

-I would sooner live in a cottage and wonder at everything than live in a castle and wonder at nothing. -Joan Winmill Brown-

 Well, thanks to my bout with insomnia (I lost :-)) last night I temporarily took over my husband’s occupation and became an architect. I built my church one satin stitch brick at a time and as of press time 🙂 I have only four left to do. And given the time they took, I’m grateful!

Each brick is done with two strands of overdyed cotton floss, which means every stitch has to be laid in order for the strands not to twist and ruin the light reflection on the fiber.

Time consuming? Yes. But worth every minute when it comes to the look of the finished piece. Thank heavens for my Tekobari (here’s a photo) . This is only one of a multitude of ‘laying tools’ on the market. A laying tool is any implement, even a collar stay, which can be used to help straighten and smooth fibers. I prefer the the tekobari because the slim, tapered tip allows me wonderful control and the square grip means it doesn’t go rolling off my frame.

So, without further ado, this was last night’s progress on Elizabeth’s Designs Old Stone Church:

Old Stone Church

I hope to be able to finish the bricks tonight before I go to bed.

I will be away for a few days so I hope everyone has a wonderful, productive and very ‘stitchy’ rest of the week. No frogs allowed!

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Carol  On March 28, 2007 at 2:08 pm

    I am so sorry to hear of your insomnia! Your church looks wonderful though!

Leave a comment