My personal soapbox!

It’s been a good week…stitching, time with friends, a Guild meeting and lovely spring weather. Unfortunately, I don’t have a lot of progress to report on my needlework. It seems I have this problem when I get together to stitch with friends: I do more gabbing than stitching. (I can just see those of you who know me rolling your eyes and muttering ‘daylight in the swamp’ :-)))))

I haven’t yet taken photos of what I did accomplish, but I wanted to write an entry anyway…about something near and dear to my um…heart. For those of you who don’t want to share my soapbox, I will be back to stitching later.

We’ve all been touched with different challenges in life. Mine is heart disease. I’ve been fighting it for many years now (and I’m just 49 a month ago.) And no, this is not a ‘poor me’ post. Why? Because I am an incredibly fortunate woman. I had a doctor who listened, who took the appropriate action and because of him…and the fabulous care I’ve received since…I’m alive today to talk about it. (And no, that’s not an exaggeration!)

What I want to do is urge anyone who reads this to be aware of what your body might be telling you. Heart disease in women doesn’t always manifest itself by a ‘grab the chest and keel over’ episode. For me it was shoulder pain and shortness of breath, for others it’s headaches or pain radiating into the lower jaw. If you feel like there might be something wrong…if you have a history or risk factors…please, please, please…take the time to tell your doctor. It’s not frivolous or alarmist to have symptoms checked, it is smart. Heart disease has, very quietly, become the number one killer of women in the United States.

If you want more information, start here

or, contact me by comment or e-mail. The treatment options are miraculous right now…so please, be aware and if something isn’t quite right, make the call, head to the ER or call your nurseline. I believe awareness and action need to go hand in hand to stop this silent killer.

Do I get tired of having to manage this condition? Some days. It bothers me more that DH spends so many hours on the waiting end of things. But it’s worth it…for both of us.

And…on a slightly shallower (and stitching related) note: I don’t know about you, but I don’t want someone else (no matter how much I love her–hi Paula :-)) to have the fun of stitching my stash until I’ve given it a good run.

Thanks for letting me have my say. Many of you have grown to be good friends and I needed to …er…get this off my chest. šŸ™‚

Here’s hoping you are having a wonderful…and healthy day!

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Paula  On April 24, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    For the record, I’m not at all ready to take on your stash, so you will just have to stick around for another 49+ years – then we can talk about it šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

