Boy…have I been lax

I am sorry for the poor posting and writing habits lately. I’ve been re-discovering a lot of things in the wake of surgery…things like working more, rearranging and doing a deep cleaning of the house (with the help of my intrepid DH), trying to get into some kind of exercise program (rather than catch as catch can) and just…well…life.

Part of the problem is my studio/study is a MESS. M…E…S…S!!!!! I took some stash out to sell and in the process pulled most of the contents of my well-organized closet out into the middle of the floor. There they stand, looking for all the world like my own personal tower of Babel. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I think just about every flat surface is covered with something.

But there is hope. This week we plan to start on the upstairs. We’re taking an old couch out of the studio/den, putting in some new bookcases and a desktop that goes over them and I am PUTTING AWAY.

I want this little project finished and order restored posthaste! While this rearrangement is necessary and will give me much better space, I find it very difficult to work in chaotic surroundings…hence not much is getting done. It’s frustrating because I have projects I’m itching to continue.

One of those projects is a quilt I started the week before last. Back at retreat in August, I invited myself to the home of my roommate who, in addition to being a very gifted stitcher, is also a quilter. I wanted to learn the basics because I have a couple of kits to put together. Janet very graciously opened her home and very patiently spent the last weekend in September having me as both a houseguest and student. I had a wonderful and productive time…I can’t wait to go back, but for now, I want to use my new-found skills before I forget them. ๐Ÿ™‚

So…I guess I’ve got to get busy.

I did have a wonderful afternoon/evening on Saturday at the home of another one of the ‘sisterhood’. Theresa has a lovely home…beautifully decorated, and very welcoming to guest and owner alike. She also has a menagerie of wonderful furbabies…two white shepherds who are great company, two kitties and a bunny named Georgie. ๐Ÿ™‚ It is always great fun to have a get-together and to be with each of these precious women…I am very blessed!

I am also humbled by the beautiful work each one of them has going on…Theresa is almost finished with ‘My Stitching Treasures’ by Jeannette Douglas and it’s gorgeous. Paula had her own happy dance last weekend, when she finished ‘Music is a Great and Glorious Gift’,ย  Susan was working on a Guild project and I plugged along on the Advent Sampler by Mary Beale.

I hope each one of you are having a wonderful, productive and invigorating autumn season.

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Theresa  On October 9, 2007 at 10:10 pm

    Thanks Julie for the kind words, and for coming to my relatively-new home, it was a great day! Although they may be fun……..all those furbabies cause some extra-special fibers to be intertwined in my work……thus……….no entering of contests for me! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

