January 4th already…

-Hospitality is not entertaining. Hospitality is an attitude of opening up your life so that others can come in. -Pam Farrel-

Wow…how the New Year is flying! Four days in and I’m behind already. ๐Ÿ™‚ But, in the interests of keeping one of my resolutions, here I go with the first entry of the New Year.

In State news (did I use that right, DB?), I am having an unbelievably difficult time trying to figure out a rotation for this year. This needs to be resolved because if I procrastinate long enough, it will be December again. If that happens I will have spent another year in needlework disorganization purgatory and I don’t want to go there. I want to be that ‘virtuous woman’ found in Proverbs 31. Well…except for that getting up while it’s still dark part. So, rotation it is…

I know my focus project for the next month has to be the Indigo Rose Folding Cross Needle Book. Why? Because I’m teaching the assembly for the project at Guild in February. And, last I checked, I have to finish stitching the thing before I can assemble it. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a lovely and fun piece…but that Tailor’s Buttonhole is making me NUTS!

Also in my rotation will be my new project for the year, the Ann Holewll Sampler by Joanne Harvey. I am waiting for the kit to arrive and will be doing this as a stitch along with Ellen Chester’s group ‘With My Needle and Pen’.

After those two pieces is where I run into trouble. What to work on? The ‘Ancestral Wedding Sampler’ by Kingsland (wedding gift to my brother and his new bride), The ‘Advent Sampler’ by Mary Beale which I love, ‘Mystery X’ by Martina Weber which has been languishing for far too long…and so many others. I think I have ‘WIP-itis’. This is why I didn’t start a new project on New Year’s day. I already have enough started to make me crazy. ๐Ÿ™‚

I also want to work some canvas into my rotation…I have a number of pieces started (surprise!) and I want to start a new Laura Perin. I love her creations.

And, last but by no means least, I want to do an ornament a month. I have this great vision…a tree all decorated in my hand worked ornaments. Can you share the vision? ๐Ÿ™‚

So, I’ll keep you posted on the the rotation dilemma. Right now I am going to start with 10 hours on the Folding Cross Needlebook by Indigo Rose and go from there.

Today I have a day at home and I’m dismantling my tree and putting away decorations. I’m also doing a bit of stitching and catching up on blog reading.

I hope this weekend is wonderful for all!

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

