Yes, Virgina….

….I have been stitching. At least a little. It’s been busy, trying to catch up from last week and get ready for a little R & R this coming weekend. We’re finally out of the dumper temperature-wise (aka: above zero) and there is just the slightest possibility we may see spring in a couple of months. 🙂

So what is my latest report from the wonderful world of needlework? Well, last weekend I worked on both Laura Perin’s beautiful Color Cubes and also added about half a ball of yarn to my scarf. I didn’t shoot another photo of the scarf, simply because it looks the same, just a tad longer. But this is what Color Cubes looked like by the end of the weekend:

Color Cubes

Sorry that I cut the corner off, but I’m working with a new camera. (Another adventure from the weekend.) And just so you can see some the detail from the corner of this lovely piece, here’s a closeup:

Close up of Color Cubes

My next step will be to fill in a lot of glittering metallics. I can’t wait to see how they make these colors pop! Have I mentioned I LOVE working Laura Perin designs? 🙂

The end of last week and this week, I’ve been working on my Advent Sampler (Mary Beale) rotation:

Here is where I’d left off before the New Year:

dscf1239.jpg

This was my progress by the end of last week after about five hours:

dscf1244.jpg

Lots of confetti stitching in the greens at the bottom of the page.

My progress since then? Not as much as I’d like, but stay tuned. Of one thing I can assure you…Adam now has hair. 🙂

This is stunning piece. HUGE but stunning. It tells the Bible story from creation through the birth of Christ in pictures, each one close to this same size. I”m doing them all on one huge piece of 40 count linen with DMC floss. I will do a small line (or two) of black cross stitch to separate the individual pictures. One neat thing about this is, I can have 24 little happy dances along the way.

If you are interested, the Advent Sampler can be ordered directly from Mary here. As far as I know, these charts are available only as a download. I had no problems accessing the files and while the charts themselves are hand-drawn, they are very easy to read and Mary’s artwork is a wonderful addition. She even gives some suggestions (with accompanying sketches) for finishing.

So that’s my week in stitches. How was yours?

I want to leave each of you with my very best wishes for a wonderful and peaceful St. Valentine’s Day. Willa Cather said, ‘Where there is great love, there are always miracles’. May your day tomorrow, your week and year all be filled with great love and great miracles.

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • lelia  On February 16, 2008 at 9:46 am

    Wonderful progress on your projects : )

Leave a Reply

