A finished project is back…

…from the framer and I must say she did a terrific job as always. A good framer is a treasure and Cindy is the best! (if you live in the Twin Cities area of Minnesota I will be happy to share her number)

My finished piece is ‘Red Christmas‘ by Jeannette Douglas Designs. Obviously I did NOT choose to do it in red. The piece is done on ‘Blue Spuce’ linen (I think–it’s been a long time) and my hope is , by selecting this color for a background, I can display this piece all winter long.

-)

It was hard to get a good photo, but the mats (top down) are metallic silver, nordic blue and a white moire mat which has a wonderful shimmer. The frame is white and I love the way the whole thing glimmers like a fresh snowfall on a cool, crisp night.

Just as an aside, I have stitched four or five of Jeannette’s designs and they are really fun…and educational to work. As a case in point…that innocent looking star stitch at the bottom point of Red Christmas took me five…yes five…times before I got it right! And before you start wondering, no it wasn’t her instructions…they were great, it just took me a while to coordinate brain and fingers. Can anyone relate?

This weekend my needlework time was spent on Sante Fe Square by Gay Ann Rogers. I finished the outer Rhodes/Tent stitch border and started adding the metallic fill in between the Rhodes stitches. This border took a LONG time!

Gay Ann Rogers

The colors are more coppery than orange, but since it’s dark outside I used a flash….and it does change hues quite a bit.

I’m going to work on this for a bit longer tonight, then get to work on finishing the kloster block outline in A Quilter’s Garden, by Emie Bishop. I also HAVE to get some knitting done this week before I forget how. 🙂

I hope everyone had a great weekend. Remember: Save the Earth, it’s the only planet with chocolate.

And with that thought (SMILE!!) goodnight.

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Miss 376  On June 9, 2008 at 12:59 am

    The framed piece is lovely. The mounts really add to the overall effect. You’ll enjoy many happy hours seeing it hung on the wall

  • geeky Heather  On June 16, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    Love the color change you made! And yes, I can tell the mat is sparkly…I wish I had that talented of a framer near me. I can definitely relate to the brain and fingers not comprehending the chart…I’ve definitely done some “iterative” stitching of one motif!!!

Leave a Reply

