Two victories…

…in a single day. First of all, I USED MY SEWING MACHINE. Okay, so I know there are several inquisitive types out there scratching their heads and wondering why I’m acting like I just won the Nobel Prize for needlework (which I believe with all my heart, mind and soul should exist in this universe…:-)) all because I used a commonplace electronic gizmo.

Lemme ‘splain. One of my goals is to free myself of counted ground gridlock. Now I love counted…needlepoint, cross-stitch….virtually any kind. And the more varied the stitches, the better I like it. I’m even somewhat good at it. In other words, I am ‘comfortable’. But lately comfortable is starting to grate. I’ve been longing for crazy quilt squares with wonderful surface stitchery, for landscapes created in free-form machine stitchery, for cool silk paper masks and abstracts…let’s call it a mid-life crisis.

So about a year and a half ago I put the chicken before the egg in a totally backwards, but somehow glorious way. I bought a Baby Lock Crafter’s Choice machine. It’s beautiful. It does everything. It has the feed dogs that drop. I love it. It is the very best sculpture in my studio/den/guest room.

Therein lies the problem: It’s not supposed to be a sculpture. I spend what, for me, was a lot of money on this gorgeous machine that I”M TOTALLY AFRAID OF. Now mind you, I have weathered more episodes at North Cardiology than anyone I know…so I don’t scare easily. But this little white machine has me shaking in my shoes and so it gathers dust.

But if I’m going to do any of those FABULOUS things lurking in my middle-aged psyche I have got to wipe off the dust, grit my teeth and practice. So today I am proud of myself and why? All because I managed to sew a not-so-straight zig-zag around a piece of fabric. I will share photos later so y’all can laugh. But that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it.

The other thing I did? I listed more stash for sale and altered prices on a few things. I have, conservatively speaking, 1500 leaflets.  Given I probably have fewer years ahead than behind, both logic and common-sense prevail upon me to stash bust, at least a little. So there are now more patterns listed on my Stash For Sale page. Enjoy perusing the new additions and if you have questions please feel free to leave a comment or e-mail me.

More later…

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Susan  On June 17, 2008 at 7:36 pm

    I understand what you mean about the sewing machine. I don’t know how to use one, but when my dd wanted one for xmas, I bought one for her. Now neither one of us have used it or even know how. I think I may sign us up for a class in the fall. I would love to learn to quilt and she wants to make clothes. So good for you for getting of the “box” and trying something new!

  • Joanne  On June 17, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Good for you Julie, well done.

  • geeky Heather  On June 20, 2008 at 10:43 am

    I can relate to your fear of the big scary sewing machine. I only have a small one, but I’m so inept with it that I still have not reduced these pillowcases I bought about a year ago on sale from King to Queen!!!

  • paulahewitt  On June 23, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    thanks for your comment on my embroidery. I am having the same crisis as you I think but more moving from patchwork into embroidery. I want to do all the exciting things i am thinking about, but sit and sew squares together instead! the lemon is the start of my epxlorations into doing my own thing – so I appreciate the kind support!

Leave a Reply

