Warning! Enabling alert…

…warning! Run fast, run very fast. Or…if you’re a needlepoint enthusiast with a hankering for cute designs and bright color…stick around. You’ll be glad you did.

Those of you who live in Minneapolis and who are going to the Needlework Guild of Minnesota’s annual retreat in August, know our theme for the retreat is ‘Mermaids’. What a perfect idea, especially in my little world. Why? Because I am huge fan of women in fish clothing. I know it’s a little strange. And I can’t even tell you exactly why I like this particular manifestation of mythology so much. It’s something about the shimmery, iridescent scales, long hair crowned with a flowering seaweed ring (um…does seaweed flower?), strategically placed shells (or not :-). So yes, I confess, I’m fifty years old and I like mermaids. When I got through my heart surgery I even bought myself Jim Shore’s beautiful cast resin mermaid….

Uh-oh…I sense myself bouncing down another bunny trail. Focus, Julie, focus.

Okay, back to the topic at hand. Mermaids. So there I was the other day, unsuspecting, securely on the wagon, innocently perusing new needlework blogs and what do I happen on but this:

Yep…you guessed it, I’m a goner. The wagon is no more than a cloud of dust on the distant horizon. But can you see my vision? A fine scissor case for retreat…people ohhhing and ahhing over my shoulder, thousands of dollars being offered as I auction off my antideluvian (well…sorta), somewhat Atlantian bling…formation of a ‘Save the Mermaid’ foundation…perhaps even a push to rebuild Atlantis…ahhh, the beauty of it all.

And the best news is, this gorgeous piece (and attendant fantasies) can be yours, too! This is a painted canvas called Neptune’s Daughter by Happy Heart Designs. It (she) is only one of many canvases available from this gifted designer. So please, if you like what you’re seeing, enjoy looking at this wonderful site full of color and fun. (there is another mermaid design, too! Talk about an embarrassment of riches.)

Tish (the designer and owner) is very helpful and I sense she has the heart of a true stitching sister…passionate about her art and a great enabler to boot! She also has a blog that’s fun and great reading. It is called Stitching Hands and Happy Hearts and you can find it bookmarked on my sidebar.

( I will say I am not affiliated in any way with Happy Heart Designs, nor did anyone pay me vast amounts of legal tender to write this entry. I just really like Tish’s work and her wonderful service!)

So, enjoy! I have a feeling that a few of you might be running right beside me as we try to catch up to that ‘ole wagon. Don’t worry, we’ll hop right back on…at least until the next time :-).

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Tish  On June 26, 2008 at 3:09 pm

    OMG, Julie. You are way too generous with your praise, I’m blushing!
    Indeed I do enjoy helping another stitcher get her hands on something near and dear to her heart, and if it happens to be one of mine that’s even better. 🙂
    I can’t wait to watch your progress and hope you enjoy the finished piece as much as I’ve enjoyed mine.

  • Judy Harper  On June 26, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    I’m so glad you found Tish’s work – I love it too!! This mermaid is especially fine.

  • Susan  On July 4, 2008 at 7:16 am

    You’ve made a good start on getting your stash organized!

    That mermaid is so cute!

Leave a Reply

