AARRRRGGGGHHHH…

…I’m EXHAUSTED!!!

Why, you may ask? Japanese embroidery, that’s why.

I love it, I love it, I love it. However, I have spent two solid days in class. Hours of work and being taught and what do I have to show?  2.5 bamboo leaves, a plum blossoom, half of another plum blossom, a few thingies at the top of the bamboo leaves, five bunches of pine needles in silk, one bunch of pine needles in gold…and a few branches courtesy of a demonstration by my wonderful teacher.  I can’t tell you how much I’ve ripped out and I don’t even want to think about many strands of flat silk I’ve turned into balls of fuzz.

Every time I think I’m getting it, I realize my left hand is on top of the frame or I’m stitching counter-clockwise or left to right. For those of you that play cards, Japanese Embroidery is the bridge of needlework.  It’s enough to make this poor novice’s head hurt.

Am I being negative? Nope. That’s just a true statement of how I’m feeling and progressing.  I have learned SO much. Kay Stanis is a fabulous teacher.  I had talked about her previously when I attended her class ‘Winter Wonders’ at the Minnesota Needlework Guild retreat.  She is a good communicator, straightforward and very knowledgeable.  If you EVER have a chance to take a class from her, don’t hesitate! Sign up!

Tomorrow it’s day number 3…and I think that involves something called shell powder.  I can’t wait. Really.  I think it’s some of the most beautiful needlework I’ve ever seen. (Maybe not mine…not yet…but the example pieces are lovely.

Pictures later…

Hope all is well in your neck of the world!

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Sue  On October 5, 2008 at 7:55 am

    Oh my! Give yourself credit for taking on the challenge…that’s like making the left side of the brain work when you’re used to working the right. Hang in there…no doubt it’s beautiful work.

  • coral-seas  On October 9, 2008 at 2:08 am

    (Sorry if I have commented twice, I’m not sure what I just did!)

    This made me smile. It sounded like me in my first JE class and, no doubt, every other JE student. Well done, it sounds as though you have made a good start and I hear your enthusiasm coming through. Sounds like you are hooked already.

    I hope you enjoyed the rest of the lessons.

    CA

  • Jane  On October 9, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    Welcome to the world of Japanese embroidery. Always happy to welcome another person to the ranks. You sound so enthusiastic if a little overwhelmed. That learning curve on the first piece is pretty steep isn’t it! I hope you have as much fun finishing your piece as you have starting it. Welcome to the JE group on stitchin fingers as well.

    jane

  • Jane  On October 9, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Sorry put the wrong link in my comment above – opps, senior moment. Good job I’m not stitching this evening.

Leave a Reply

