I cannot believe…

...that the inscrutable universe turns on an axis of suffering;  surely the strange beauty of the world must somewhere rest on pure joy! –Louis Bogan

Does this quote speak to you as it does to me?  I look around at the beautiful colors and see a God Who knows the meaning of the word ‘joy’.  Indeed I see a God Who invented the emotion of pure joy.  I experienced that emotion through the power of nature this past week.  Let me share with you a bit of my walk in the woods last Monday. It was a glorious day…

Colorful tree at Elm Creek

Colorful tree at Elm Creek

and…

Glorious shadings

Glorious shadings

and…

sumac on the trail

sumac on the trail

and one more:

A passing season...

A passing season...

Doesn’t a part of you want to dance for joy at the lovely colors? Think of Snoopy, arms waving in the air, eyes closed, feet a tappin’.  That’s what this day make me feel like…tap dancing in the leaves. Some of you will be grateful to know that I refrained :-).

No stitching to share today.  I have been working with words rather than plying my needle. I have a submission coming up for the Master Needle Artist program, I’ve been trying to get my library listing updated and in so doing realized just how many books I have yet to catalog. 😦 and I’m even trying to get back into the habit of daily posts here.

However I plan to remedy that ‘no stitching’ issue.  Tomorrow I am off to enjoy a day retreat with some very good friends.  The retreat actually goes all weekend, but because I work on Sunday, I am doing it for only one day.  I plan to bring my Meadow afghan, my Emie Bishop Hardanger piece and a Pine Mountain Pillow-Chick’s Rule! I will be gone from early morning to late tomorrow night and am planning on having a rip-roaring good time.  I really enjoy both the time to work on existing projects and my time with these precious women.

I’ve added a few more books to my library listing and…finally…listed some October goals.

I hope everyone has a wonderful…JOY filled…weekend!

Blessings,

Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Heather  On October 30, 2008 at 12:48 pm

    I hereby give you permission to tap-dance in the leaves. =)

    It’s more of a struggle for me to rejoice in the Fall colors than the effortless joy I feel for Spring blooming. But I’m trying to get “better” because Michael’s favorite season.

Leave a Reply

