My First ‘Recommended Reading’ Post…

…in a long, long time.  And it’s not because I lack material or a love for the written word.  One of the great regrets of my life is I can’t stitch and read at the same time. I do the next best thing…stitch and listen to books on CD…but it’s not the same. I love the feel of a book in my hand and the thrill when I discover one that is so compellingly written I can’t put it down. And when such a book involves needlework, well…it is worth a post to suggest it to this stitching community.

The Tenth Gift’ by Jane Johnson is a fabulous read, so much so in fact, I even grudged the time I spent watching football yesterday (GASP!).  As it was, I finished its 385 pages in slightly more than a day and now find myself at a loss…because there’s not a sequel or even another novel by this author on the horizon.

‘The Tenth Gift‘ follows two women who’s lives are joined across time by a small 17th century book of embroidery designs.  The commonalities between Julia and Catherine are striking and their stories  compelling. The writing is powerful and woven through the pages of ‘The Tenth Gift‘  run magnificent descriptions of life, love, tragedy, struggle and strength in two different centuries.

If I were to borrow from Heather’s Jiff Note approach I would summarize:  Romance, Pirates, a Ghost(?), Needlework! A MUST READ. 🙂 (thank you, Heather!)

Enjoy.

Blessings, Julie

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Heather  On November 11, 2008 at 2:27 pm

    LOL…you’re more than welcome. Feel free to use the JiffNote format if you want. =)

    It sounds like a wonderful book! I added it to my goodreads.com list!

  • Teresa  On November 14, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    After reading your recommendation of The Tenth Gift I put a hold on it from my library. They just notified me that it is available for pickup. So I will be getting it today! Thanks for the tip! Also, I saw on your list that you have Truswell’s Ultimate Big Book of Finishing–any chance you might part with it? 🙂 Teresa

  • CarolR  On November 15, 2008 at 10:20 am

    There is another book by Jane Johnson – Crossed Bones

Leave a Reply

